You Gotta Have a Gimmick

Do you remember that scene in Gypsy where the strippers are singing about how you gotta have a gimmick?

What if you don’t? What if all your life people have been disconcerted by you because there isn’t a box they could easily put you into? What then?

I’ve been thinking about gimmicks, hooks, themes, angles, points of view… heck you could throw in the whole thesaurus… and I can’t find one. I don’t seem to have the ability to be anything but myself. And I am interested in too many different things. Every five years or so I have to completely reinvent myself – I know I’m not alone, but I also know that they don’t have a good box to put us in…yet.

So why the (oh, I so want to say a bad word here) would anyone want to read this?

The problem is that except for my best friend and random acquaintances, I feel that my life is devoid of the intellectual simulation that I need. It is a need not a want. I want a successful romantic relationship but I can live without it. I can’t live without thinking. I need to think about things, share, dialogue, and argue with people.

To challenge and be challenged.

Is it an excuse? Or is this slop to my vanity? But then, I’m not sure I’m vain. I revel in problem solving, enjoy figuring things out, can get so excited about a new idea or a new way of looking at the world that I jump up and down like a child…or cry. The crying is new and seems to be reserved for people who I feel are doing amazing things. It’s strange I never cried as a child – but now I read about the ways people are shaping their business and their destinies and yes, I cry.

But this was about getting a gimmick.

I’ve been told a blog should have a theme – something focused but not so narrow that you will run out of content. And yet I sit here thematically challenged… but with so much I want to explore. So I’ll take a page out of one of my favorite business books and fail faster – try lots of things and see what sticks.

~ Tess

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

Leave a Reply

