Day 1 – Singing Cole Porter

Yes, it is a bit later than I usually begin writing for the day – but this is a different day.

I spent last night reading Kat Richardson’s book Poltergeist. A nice Urban Fantasy that takes place in Seattle. Night and morning, I didn’t go to bed until 2:30 am. Then, wouldn’t you know it, I had insomnia. Both the “I can’t get to sleep kind” and then the “I can’t stay awake kind.

So I tried for 8 hours and almost got it although not the bet 8 hours of my sleeping life but they will have to do. Today is a busy day. Today is day one of my planned 4-day focus on re-writing/working my novella.

We shall see how it goes.

So far I’ve picked up the kitchen and my mess in the dining room and moved everything that was scattered all over the floor of my office into the closet. The good thing – there was space – which wasn’t true when I started this project three weeks ago. Granted things are simply in boxes and still need to be looked at and either filed away or tossed but a dent has been made and from here on out it should be easier.   

Okay, that maybe wishful thinking… but there it is.

Time to get more coffee! Would you believe that I did all of the above with only one cup?

So here is the plan.

To marinate in my story for four days until it is something worth sending out my readers/editor and then spend the last part of the week doing minor surgery and clean up for a May 1st deadline.

The story has its moments but needs quite a bit of work. There are only two things outside of my story universe I have to do (sorry Brian celebrating your new job isn’t one of them but congratulations and have fun tonight).

Other than those two things I’m all mine!!!!

If you are dying of curiosity they are a gymnastics meet and seeing a friend who is coming in from out of town.

Wish me luck!

~ Tess

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

