Day 4 – Singing Cole Porter

Wiki Commens - Ulysses and the Sirens by H.J. Draper

Wish I had better news.

It is the morning of Day 4 and I’m only 1/3 through the re-write of the story. It’s been a battle every day to sit down and write.

Migraine mostly.

Right now I’m sitting here with my coffee on one side of the keyboard and an Imitrex on the other. I’ve conditioned myself not to take Imitrex unless the migraine is over a 6 on my 1-10 pain scale. I only have a 5 but I need a good day.

9:35 and one Imitrex down.

Here’s hoping for a better day.

On the plus side I discovered a few things.

When I’m having a plot problem I need to walk away and do something else for awhile. I just have to remember to come back. I think this is a similar process to complex decision making. I distract myself and my subconscious process all the data and then sends me the results via my “feelings”.

My house is more organized than ever. Apparently I have to have everything in place, put away, and picked up for me to write. So, this has been a lovely ongoing side benefit. The Bedroom is still one big closet but you can’t have everything.

An ice pack on my neck, a heating pad on my back, and rest is still one of the best ways to best ways to get rid of a mild headache. (Even better when I can add an Imitrex to the mix)

I’m developing a new pattern. Two hours of writing, go do something else, two more hours of writing. I’ve had this theory that writing is like distance running. You have to work up your stamina and focus. Although it is possible to get up one morning and decided to write for three days straight, preparation and training make it easier.

There are my insights and words of wisdom as I begin Day 4. They aren’t much but then I feel like I’m in purgatory. The funny thing is, I did an edit on the rewritten section this morning and loved it. So it’s worth the pain.

Back to it.

~ Tess

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

