The Value of Being Disconnected

Oceanside Oregon

Many moons ago…

I went off to Walla Walla to “disconnect” regular readers will know that didn’t happen. Yelp was used to find a place to go to dinner, and the iPhone was a constant companion (not mine – my companions – I have not yet succumbed to the lure of the iPhone), phone calls taken, and in general although we were “away” we were still here.

Last weekend I spent three days at Oceanside.

No cell service, the cable TV was out, as was the DSL. My companion spent a morning answering emails no one would get until he connected back home and I spent some time writing… but other than that…

The electronic silence was deafening.

It was amazing.

Thoughts were finished, plans ruminated over and the pace of the day slowed down.  

It’s been a very long time since I’ve gone away for a few days and came back feeling refreshed. Nothing in the everyday world touched us. We didn’t even have news and although a paper was purchased it went unread. We read books and magazines, talked and played cards, kayaked and hiked, walked on the beach and flew a kite.

I was so content in this world of no email, phone calls or text messages that I didn’t even think to check my phone until I was driving home from unpacking the kayaks.

Oceanside Credit:Wikimedia Commons

The funny thing… If someone had told me we were going somewhere where there was no cell service, cable or internet I think I would have balked. Like everyone else I’m connected through my electronics. It was much more fun for it to be a surprise… we couldn’t even get the TV to talk to the DVD player and watch a movie. So we shrugged our shoulders and found other things to do.

It was nice.

I think I want to go back.   

~ Tess

2 Comments

Filed under Random

2 responses to “The Value of Being Disconnected

  1. DJ

    I LOVE this kind of vacation. I actually seek it out. It’s SOOO much more relaxing when you truly disconnect and let go. The world doesn’t end, and you feel so much more refreshed, which is the point of vacation. My disappointment is that it’s getting harder to find spots that are “connection free.”

  2. Yes… I might even consider camping as a way of getting away from the electronic connectiveness (if that’s a word I misspelled it). ~ T

Leave a Reply

